Egypt, Wisconsin

18 Feb

Updates on Madison:  http://www.madison.com/index.html

Why journalism? It’s sometimes a public service, as in civic duty. Newspapers used to be able to afford people called stringers to poke around each and every little hamlet’s city council, planning commission and various and sundry government entities. The pettiness alone was worth the effort.

It’s kind of like writing except the kind of life you’re having that particular day can’t automatically get reflected in your words. If I’m having a great life and following stories involving the dregs of society–lobbyists and lawyers usually, who are going to kill us all including the whales–it means sucking it up and picking fights with these people in order to get the story.

Conversely, while slaying dragons I still must suck it up and be polite while doing an upbeat story. Sometimes it’s piling up way past my boots and I get to do a story on a complete ass. That’s just journalism Christmas. It’s not that often.

What I’m trying to say, meaning I buried the lede, is this blog has run its course. I waste my energy listening to cool music videos and writing pithy observations. I started it for myself, to keep writing while I navigated a slump and I’m ending it to go on to something else. Just about anything involving hard currency.

Who rules? Concrete Blonde, Johnette Napolitano, Joni Mitchell and Bette Midler and Cher, Patti Smith, Bruce Springsteen, and John Lennon.

One Response to “Egypt, Wisconsin”

  1. Lauren Amateur April 26, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Не that lives with cripples learns to limp.

    Like

Leave a Reply

